Let’s Have Tea | March 2024

If we had tea | we’d sit inside, cradling mugs of Earl Grey and watching the brooding storm outside. Last year, they predicted that this summer would be hot and dry. Instead, we’ve had unusually rainy, stormy weather. Of course, that also means extreme humidity. And, it seems as if summer is having one last hurrah, with February having some of the hottest weather all season.

If we had tea | I’d ask how your year has been so far. In January, the year feels fresh and full of promise. By February, the year still has a hint of its new year shine. But by the time we get to March, it feels like we’re in the thick of things. The year is progressing, and its a promise that it really won’t be long at all before we find ourselves in the later half of the year. Has it been a good year for you so far?

If we had tea | we’d step back a little and I’d share some of the big, heavy things that have been happening recently. I won’t go into all the details in this online space, but it involves dealing with a lot of bureaucracy and being frustrated at every step. It’s also related to our finances, so it really comes down to trusting that God will provide and bring the relief that we need. God has given me a Bible passage to dwell on in this situation – Psalm 37 – which is all about not being angry in the face of corruption, but finding our delight in God and waiting for him to bring justice.

If we had tea | I’d lighten the mood a little by sharing how proud I am of Gabriel. He started school this month and he’s been adjusting really well. Now that we’re two weeks in, he is getting tired but that’s understandable with such an increased workload. He’s been joining in with all the class activities and was able to tell me the name of one of his new friends. And just this morning, he sang a song he’d learned about the days of the week. It’s so wonderful to see him learning, and I’m so excited to see him continue to develop and learn. For those of you who have kids, how are their learning journeys going?

If we had tea | we’d talk about Lent and look forward to Easter. Over the last few years, I’ve been drawn more to the traditional church calendar. This Christmas, I received a beautiful book called Sacred Seasons; a practical guide on how to commemorate each stage of the calendar. This year for Lent, I’ve given up sweet food (mainly biscuits and chocolate). But then each Sunday, I celebrate the resurrection by baking a dessert and sharing it with my family! I’ve also put some Lenten artworks up in my home, to help me reflect on Jesus’ work on the cross. Do you follow the church calendar? It’s not something we’re obliged to do as Christians, but I find it a beautiful, fun way to focus on God.

If we had tea | I’d share a dream that’s been growing for the last little while. I want to write a book about the Old Testament! Specifically, something to help people who might find the Old Testament confusing or irrelevant, to show how the Old Testament fits in to the Bible as a whole, how it points to Jesus and how it reveals God’s character which is the same for us today. It might possibly seem impractical at this stage of life, with three little kids and two days of work, but it’s a big passion of mine and something I keep thinking about. In the end, it’s about discerning God’s timing and taking that step of faith when the time is right.

If we had tea | we’d wait for the storm to die down before we parted ways, with the promise of meeting again next month.

What would you say if we met for tea?

6 comments

  1. If we had teaI wouldtell you to start research on that book now and work on it when you can. Do you have ten minutes in the morning? Work on it. Do you have some time at night? Work on it. If you feel you are supposed to, at least.

    I would tell you that we are at the end of winter where I am and we are looking forward to some warmer days.

    And I would tell you this is a real cool feature!

    Like

  2. If you and I had tea I tell you I am sorry for the hard times your are currently experiencing. The frustration and financial burden. And I would also mention that I have similar struggles (though different circumstances). I have not have a full time project since October, been sick a lot and now I can see the financial burden of not having worked much lately. And it’s a tough market right now. I am confident it will all work out but getting through is a bit tough on mental health at times.

    If you and I had tea I would also congratulate you on doing lent and staying of sweets. As you may remember that was my goal too. I have to admit I didn’t follow through completely. I cut back significantly but I also enjoyed a piece of cake or a bar of ice cream here and there. The main reason for the cut back (lent being the motivation) was reducing my migraines and that has worked.

    Like

    • Sorry to hear of your struggles with work recently, I hope things pick up for you soon. And that’s great that cutting down on sugar has helped with your migraines. It was primarily a spiritual thing for me, but the physical benefits can be good too!

      Like

  3. Hi Bella! It’s so nice to have tea with you, even if it is later than usual. I am sorry to hear about your current financial situation and will add you to my prayer journal to remember to pray for you and your family. I am all too familiar with this struggle, but as you said it does cause us to lean into God more and he always does provide!

    I would also celebrate with you for Gabriel! How exciting! As you know, our schooling journey has looked different for our kids as we are homeschooling so it is fun to hear about others’ journey sending their kids to school. Sounds like he’s doing so well, that’s great to hear.

    I love your idea of giving up sweets during the week but celebrating the resurrection with your family each Sunday. That is something that I may need to try out with out family. 🙂

    Looking forward to having tea with you again soon!

    Like

    • Thanks for your prayers, Ashley. It is encouraging to remember that God always provides.

      Intentionally celebrating the resurrection during Lent has been such a lovely practice, I definitely recommend it!

      Like

Leave a comment