Wrapping my head around motherhood

booties-2047596__340

I don’t have any kids. I’m not pregnant and, despite what some people suggest, we’re not planning them in the very near future. Even so, having kids is a very real possibility within the next few years. I find my thoughts turning more and more to this possibility. How many kids will we have? Will they be boys or girls? What will they be like? It’s incredibly exciting but it’s also terribly scary.

 

Nearly every mum I’ve spoken to has said something along the same lines: Motherhood is the best thing and the hardest thing you’ll ever do. In the blogs I’ve recently been reading, I’ve also come across a number of posts that touch on the same truth. The best and the hardest. At the same time.

 

I’ll be honest, I’m struggling to get my head around that. It seems as if for the moment, I can only focus on one at a time. I’ll think about how amazing motherhood will be. I think about the joy those little lives will bring, and I feel an overwhelming desire to be a parent soon. Other times, I think about how hard it will be. The constant need to be selfless, the never-ending demands, the huge responsibility. These little lives will be completely dependent on me, and it’s up to me not only to keep them alive and happy but also to train them up in the faith and make sure they grow up to be well-rounded, moral, productive citizens. Thinking of it this way, I wonder if I’m even up to the task.

 

Holding the two of those at the same time – the best and the hardest – I think that’s something I’ll only really understand when I finally do meet my babies. The love that I’ll feel for them, I’m certain that nothing will prepare me for how intense it will be. Maybe it’s that love that makes the hardship, the selfless acts, the struggles all worth it.

 

And about being up to the task. I’m sure I won’t be – not to be a perfect mother, anyway. But I remind myself that it’s not just up to me. I have a husband, who I know will be such a wonderful father – gentle, playful and strong. And more than that, on those days when both of us are overwhelmed, at the end of our strength and unsure of what to do, we have our own Heavenly Father. Who gives us strength when we have nothing left to give, who shows us grace when we make mistakes, who makes beauty out of the mess and works all things for good for those who love him.

 

I’m still wrapping my head around motherhood. I don’t think I’ll ever be fully prepared for it, although I feel myself getting closer and closer to being ready. Maybe I’ll always be wrapping my head around it – even after I meet my babies. For the moment though, I’m waiting in the one who gives us strength for those best and hardest things he calls us to do.

 

Wrapping my head around motherhood

Save

Save

12 thoughts on “Wrapping my head around motherhood

  1. I’m not sure we are ever really ready, but somehow we do make it through the process and in no time at all, are marveling at how difficult but amazing it is. xx

    Like

  2. I became a first time mum ant 18, and by the time I was 26 all four of my beautiful sons had been born. Not once was I ever really prepared for bub but I made it through and here I am today writing a blog post about how much harder it is to parent my boys at their current ages of 23 21 19 and 17.

    Like

  3. As a mum, I’m still getting my head around it. You’ll be a wonderful one when that time of your life comes along. In the meantime, enjoy the sleep 😉

    Like

  4. I love this post! It’s so honest and almost exactly how I feel as well, especially the hardest and best thing. I agree that I don’t think we’ll ever really understand that until we have babies. I also go back and forth about being ready and being afraid of the responsibility. The other thing I always hear too is that kids are always worth it. I can’t wait to find out. 🙂

    Like

  5. It absolutely is the hardest and the best thing you’ll ever do. It’s the biggest contradiction of life, because you can be so overwhelmingly frustrated or angry with what’s going on, and then in the next heartbeat be absolutely melting with love because they’ve just done the most amazing thing. It’s a bit of a mind-warp experience! I don’t think you’re ever truly ready to be a parent, heaven knows that if everyone waited until they were ready we would have died out as a species a long time ago, lol! But if you have a good support network and people that will have your back, you’ll not only survive but thrive.
    #teamIBOT

    Like

Leave a Reply

