Favourite Finds – March 2017

chamomile-1261796_960_720

 

I’m still very new to the whole blogging thing. Which means I’m still trying out new things to see what works. This month for Favourite Finds, I’m shaking it up a bit. Instead of just posting articles that I’ve found helpful or interesting, I’m broadening my horizons to share with you my favourite things for the month in a range of areas.

 

On the screen

I have to admit here, I’ve been really enjoying watching Adventure Time with my husband. I remember when we were dating and we found out we both liked the show. I can’t say that was the defining factor in knowing he was the one for me, but it certainly helped the case! We’ve been watching through the series – usually a few episodes each evening – and now we’re up to season 5. It’s meant for kids and teenagers, I know, but I think it’s great. Some episodes are just plain silly, with quotes that we’re repeating for days afterwards. Some episodes are heartfelt and quite sweet, some are a bit spooky. And with each episode being about ten minutes, sitting down to watch is a much lighter commitment than watching an hour length show.

 

20170331_091425

 

On the page plantagenets

For Valentines Day, my husband got me a book about the Plantagenet kings of England. A proper historical non-fiction book. Incidentally, I got him a similar book about the Julio-Claudian dynasty of Rome. I think we, as history nerds, appreciated these gifts far more than roses or chocolates (although they are nice too!). This last week, I’ve just started to read my Plantagenets book – and, wow! This is one of my favourite eras of history but this book really gives me a deeper sense not just of what these kings did but what they were like as people. Their strengths and their weaknesses. That’s what I love about history, getting to know people who lived hundreds of years ago. Reaching back into the past and touching the echos of those who have gone before us.

 

On the internet

Over this last month especially, I’ve loved connecting with other bloggers. I’ve joined a blogging group on Facebook and I’ve found a virtual tea/coffee date that meets once a month.

I’m so thrilled with the ladies I’ve met here, their hearts for Jesus and their commitment to their blogging ministry. I may not get to meet any of my fellow bloggers in person (as most of you live in a different country to me), but you have all been such an encouragement to me as I’m finding my feet. Please check out my blogroll for the links to these amazing blogs.

 

On the plate

I’ve been trying to find healthy ideas for snacks and lunches recently. I don’t really feel the need to be extreme with my healthy eating habits, to cut out ‘unhealthy food’ all together. But it is important to be generally keeping up with a low sugar, natural, healthy diet. And there are some very delicious things that fall into that category. One thing I’ve discovered is roasted chickpeas. They’re so easy to make – just mix them up with some spices and olive oil, and put them in the oven for 20 minutes. They go all crispy with a lovely, earthy flavour, and go great with some salad on a wrap. So that’s been our lunch most of the days we’ve been home together. So much better than getting take-away.

 

20170129_182516

 

So, these are a few things I’ve found this month that I thought I’d share with you. I’m looking forward to seeing what next month brings.

 

Leave a Reply

